Seasoned Steak

This is my go-to when I’m strapped for time in the evenings or can’t be bothered being adventurous.

I grab a single steak from the freezer, defrost it, and cook it up in delicious seasonings. No marinating necessary, and it always hits the spot. Nothing like pure, unadulterated meat.

Because pastured meat isn’t available to me, I buy these thick steaks and chop them up, cutting off the fat (not that I have anything against fat itself – it’s the toxins in the fat of commercial meat products). The smaller chunks still taste great and the bonus is they cook so much faster.

Ingredients:
Whatever steak you can get your hands on
Dried herbs (my favourites are sage and oregano)
Cayenne pepper
Salt and pepper
Instructions:
You can season the steak ahead of time with a pinch of salt, a few shakes of each of the herbs, a few grinds of pepper, and a dash of cayenne. 
More often than not though, I just chuck it in a hot, oiled pan and closely follow with the extras. It's faster and still yummy!

I like to drizzle a bit of dijon on it. Ooooohhh yes!

Tip:

If you’re going to make extra for the next day and put it in a salad, PLEASE do not use coconut oil! I’ve been there. The coconut oil makes it go very strange if you’re eating it cold. Olive oil is the best because it’s liquid at room temperature.

5 thoughts on “Seasoned Steak”

Leave a Reply

