Things You Should Buy Before Your Whole30 Begins

I thought I’d be ok without these obscure ‘luxury items’ and organic goods during my first Whole30. I was wrong.

As I scrolled through recipe after recipe, I became increasingly frustrated because I didn’t have certain ingredients which seemed to keep popping up all over the place.

I caved after about a week and ordered a whole bunch from iHerb, an online store which keeps expats in Korea smiling with deliveries of organic groceries and familiar treats. Check it out if you’re far from home.

Without further ado, here’s a list of things that I found essential to have on hand:

– Extra virgin coconut oil: I use this for frying most things.

– Organic, pastured ghee: Aka clarified butter. You get all the flavour without the nasty lactose punch.

– Coconut aminos: Loads of red meat recipes will call for this soy sauce substitute.

– Dijon Mustard: It’s used in so many recipes and it’s amazing as a dash of extra flavour.

– Dried herbs: Oregano, basil, parsley, sage, marjoram, thyme

– Spices: Cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, turmeric, curry powder, cayenne, paprika, smoked paprika, ginger powder, garlic powder, onion powder (unless you are doing a low FODMAP version)

– Peppermint tea: Great following meals when maybe you used to snack or have dessert.

– Fresh herbs: Whatever you can find. For me, that’s basil, parsley, and rosemary. Not much, but having them helps a lot.

The following are only for the regular Whole30 (not low FODMAP):

– Coconut milk: I especially love it with eggs,  chicken, or straight out of the can.

– Nuts: Cashews are the best, but mix it up with almonds, walnuts, pecans. They’re so easy if you need a good source of fat in a rush.

– Avocados: These make the fat portion so easy. Just halve an avocado and slam it on your plate.

What do you wish you’d had in your cupboards to begin with? Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

